News Archive

2012 ALJBS Session closes with graduation

Boys Nation Senators and many award winners announced

An eventful 2012 ALJBS Session drew to a close Friday afternoon with the graduation ceremonies.

Boys Nation Senators Johan Zhang [Johnson City #16] of Belle Mead (Somerset County), Post #12 and Nimit Jindal [Jackson City #6] of Dover (Morris County), Post #344 will go to Washington, DC for Boys Nation. Zhang and Jindal, as well as alternates Amahdi Shabaka [Pierce City #13] of Montclair (Essex County), Post #251 and Samier Merchant [Tyler City #9] of Princeton Junction (Mercer County), Post #76 received the news before the delegates and their families at graduation.

The Todd Eaton Award went to Logan Greer [Monroe City #5] of Glassboro (Gloucester County), Post #241. The award is given to the delegate who best represents the spirit of the program, who has not won the accolades and races that others have but have given of themselves to help others achieve their goals.

Boys State Lieutenant Governor Nauman Ahmad [Washington City #1] of Paramus (Bergen County), Post #310 was the recipient of the Gordon Vreeland award for best delegate. The Vreeland award is given to the delegate who has best exemplified dedication and achievement in the Boys State program.

Before the graduation, Ridgeway County (Tyler and Polk cities) received the Harold and Lillian Eaton Award for Best County. Ridgeway county was led by Senior City Counselors Rich Kane and Andy Bilarcyk and Mayors Joseph Moramarco [Tyler City #9] of Haddonfield (Camden County), Post #38 and Christopher Nieves [Polk City #10] of Rahway (Union County), Post #5. The Walter and Evelyn Howell Award for Best City was awarded to Pierce City, led by Senior City Counselor Shane Mata and Mayor Ryan Schubert [Pierce City #13] of Shamong (Burlington County), Post #526. Each of these cities was awarded a special guidon and commended for their hard work by Director David Bagatelle at the start of graduation.

Congratulations to all our winners and to all our delegates for completing a successful 2012 ALJBS Session!

originally posted June 22, 2012 1400